Wednesday, May 10, 2006

Webby Award Winners Announced; NPR Sweeps; MySpace Founder; Mark Cuban

Webby Awards winnders were announced today, and some interesting and some tired winners…NPR got a bunch of awards. Main ones:
– Webby Breakout of the Year: social networking sensation and its founders Tom Anderson and Chris DeWolfe.
– Webby Artist of the Year: The Gorillaz, the world’s most successful virtual band and a pioneer in fusing music and animation.
– Webby Entrepreneur of the Year: Mark Cuban, owner of the Dallas Mavericks and HDNet and evangelist for the power of technology to drive change.
Among others: The Huffington Post won for best political blog; Flickr won for best navigation; Google Earth for broadband; National Geographic Magazine Online for magazine; NPR Music for people’s choice in music; Guardian for newspaper site; Yahoo! Podcasts for podcasting (official) and NPR for people’s choice in podcasts.
The full list is here